3.16.365: The Endless Summer Shrug

I made this to match a white and yellow dress my mom gave me a while back. I named it my Endless Summer Shrug because of the bright yellow yarn color but it turned out it was endless knitting too. I frogged this thing at least six times before I made it all the way to the end. One time I was THISCLOSE to being finished, only about two inches, when I had to rip it back halfway. Gah.

But now it’s done and I love it.

I have to be very careful when I sit in this dress. It’s very, very short. Be a lady, Jennifer. Sit up straight. Don’t forget to breath.

Also? Next time, make your bed BEFORE pictures.

64 Comments to “3.16.365: The Endless Summer Shrug”

  1. Beautiful shrug!

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! Well done :). K

  3. Nice unmade bed, too!

  4. I’m impressed with your work, but I can tell you one thing for certain: It sure wouldn’t like like that on me! 😉

  5. I love the colour, I love yellow. makes me feel good.
    Dont worry about the bed, just keep making more pictures. Didn’t even notice the bed until you mentioned it.
    regards, Bill.

  6. Great shrug! I am in the process of learning how to knit myself. Like the very early beginning stages. A shrug seems like such a faraway goal. 🙂

  7. AAHHH! I want one!!!

  8. I admire people who can knit. It is an art form but very ill recognised. Knit clothes are my favourite because they are so easily wearable summer or winter depending on material density. Your yellow shrug reminds me of a pink one I have – not handmade like yours. It doesn’t have the special touch.

  9. Do you have an etsy page? I would definitely buy one of those. Super great idea for a the chilly evenings of June.

  10. The unmade bed is fine! I never make my bed and we wouldn’t have noticed if you didn’t say anything! 😉

  11. I am always impressed with anyone who can make something… anything… clothes or food. I particularly love the yellow color and think you look great in it. Or, shall I say, (cough) it really accentuates your assets.

    “Hello sweater,” she says pulling it out of the drawer.

    “It’s summa!”

  12. LOL! The details! The unmade bed went unnoticed until u mentioned it. I was looking at the shrug! Beautiful! I crochet, so my love of Handmade items trumps a well-made bed anyway!

  13. I wish I could knit, that is CUTE! Don’t worry about your bed, they look comfier unmade!

  14. Well done! A sunshine yellow, pretty color. A good name it does keep summer close by!
    Congrats on being FP!

  15. Wow, great work! It’s so cute! I didn’t notice the bed either 🙂

  16. Yes I think the yellow distracted everyone from the bed. Is a pattern available for this?

  17. Admins of Freshly Pressed here on WordPress like it too. 😉

  18. i love this, its gorgeous!!

  19. I’m sort of in awe of anyone who can make anything that they can actually wear. ( I mean aside from a dark closet) It’s adorable. And congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  20. Cute!!! I want one

  21. Beautiful shrug! Love the colour!!!

  22. Is this your design? very nice. I have never made a shrug but poncho’s are at the top of my list for spring and summer evenings.

  23. I would definitely buy one on Etsy. Beautiful!

  24. I am a massive fan of shrugs, in any case and I absolutely love this one. The color is gorgeous, bright and cheery, and it’s so cute on! Duly impressed.

  25. hehe great outfit…i like how your fingers are interlocked and resting on your knees, just like a prim and proper girl:)

  26. Beautiful! I’m teaching myself to knit, but other than baby clothes and the occasional scarf, I’m too scared to attempt an article of clothing.

  27. You made that? Wow! It’s so pretty. It’s funny when you can hear your mom in your head. 🙂

    Congratulations on being FP!

  28. That’s really cute. Do you have a link to the pattern? If you made it up, would you be willing to post the pattern? I want one.

  29. Where can I order one? Super awesome shrug, love the color.

  30. Well- color me shocked. Freshly Pressed really attracts some attention, doesn’t it?

    Thanks for all the nice comments! I do have an etsy shop. It’s here: thefroggybog.etsy.com
    Although, I’m not selling shrugs over there yet. After all the great comments, I might consider it. 🙂

    I got the pattern off Ravelry.com : http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/circular-shrug

    Have fun making your own!

  31. Wow, that’s awesome! I didn’t know you could knit like that! Beautiful!

  32. Love The Srug!! It Fits You Perfectly Also, Like A Few Others Said Didn’t Notice The Bed Till You Mentioned It !!!!

  33. OMG, who makes their bed anymore? If you do, loosen up a bit, and stop biting your nails geez!

  34. Love it! Nice work…

  35. Beautiful job. I like it. Don’t worry about the bed. Who cares? Not me

  36. Cute! I love this!

  37. reminds of something I would pay $80 for at Anthropologie.

    What fiber did you use?

  38. That’s incredible talent! I can honestly say that I could never do that, not because I couldn’t figure out, but because the patience necessary totally escapes me. Seriously, way to go. And it’s beautiful. So is the dress 🙂

  39. Wow, this is beautiful. My knitting ability only allows me to make scarves and beanies. I tried crocheting last year… not such a good idea.

  40. Very pretty. I can’t believe you made that! You’re very talented 🙂

  41. It’s perfect with that dress! I made a larger, three-quartered sleeved one for this past winter and I loved it. It’s a deep forest green and crocheted. But everyone things I knitted it because of the stitches I used. I’m working on a summer one now. You’ve inspired me to hurry and get it done so I can start wearing it!

    Great job!

  42. Two Shrugs up!!

    Great post!

  43. It is a nice shade of yellow. I didn’t even notice the mussed bed. I like the way the photo came out, with the colors and textures.

  44. Nice! Great job! I know nothing about knitting… You are awesome

  45. Geez, I wish I could knit.

  46. I would love to learn how to knit this year. Among many other things.:)

  47. Glad to know I”m not the only person who rips apart projects so close to the finish line just to get it right.
    Cute shrug!

  48. AMAZING! LOVE the color! My friends constantly tease me about how often I wear shrugs and shawls — you can never have too many, I say!

  49. That’s wonderful picture and so many questions about you. Have a fun for you

  50. Wow! That’s such a beautiful shrug. I can imagine it being a pain in the ass to make it but the result is certainly worth it! Enjoy it as much as you can!

  51. I know the pain of having to start over a project just as the finish line is in view. But, it’s about the journey when you do what you love! (Or so I keep telling myself, lol.)

  52. lol endless indeed…

  53. This is nice!! I like it. It reminds me of my Dar doing one for me. It a knitted sweater.
    Will take a photos and post on my blog too. =) Cheers

    http://younmeforever.wordpress.com

  54. Love the shrug!!

  55. I have the same knitted shrug like yours! The difference I think is that mine is yellow-orange. I also admire you dress though I think it’s neckline is quite low. But it’s still great! 🙂

