3.30.2011: Shiner

At the ripe old age of 32, I’ve got my very first black eye. Sadly I can’t claim that it came from anything interesting. I didn’t get it fighting over my man at a bar. I didn’t catch a hockey puck with my eye. I didn’t jump in front of a moving train to save a baby.

No. I just sat on the floor and let my baby use me as a playground, managing to (not-so-gracefully) knock heads with him during the process. We both looked at each other, said “Ow” and went about our business. It wasn’t until the next day that I realized I was about to start fielding a lot of curious glances and nosy questions.

Well- now you know the official story: I’m clumsy and I grow clumsy kids. The End.

5 Comments to “3.30.2011: Shiner”

  1. Got a broken nose once from a small child that I own….course the nose had been broken three times before so it is a little sensitive.

  2. My first offical shiner was when I was 25. In a drunken state while backpacking in Europe a friend and I decided we would try to steal a little steel man on the top of a road sign. I boosted her up, and she kneed me in the face. I had a black eye for over a week of the trip. Turns out the little steel man was welded to the 8 foot high pole.

    Great blog, congrats on the FP for your last post!

  3. Saw you through FP, great blog!

    My kid is probably going to break my nose a few times as he grows. Plus, he’s only two and he wants to play hockey.

    I might as well kiss any niceties about my face goodbye.

  4. I’ve never had a black eye, but I have had many bruises from “playing” with the kids. I think they believe we are unbreakable.

    I have awarded you The Versatile Blogger Award! Please tell us 7 things about yourself that you have not told us before and then you can award the Versatile Blogger award to 7 other bloggers.

  5. You are nowhere close to being old in numbers…… 🙂

    I just ran into your blog today, this is the first post I saw…. even with that shiner you have some pretty eyes.

