Archive for April 12th, 2011

April 12, 2011

4.10.365: Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?

I haven’t been to Orange Circle in about five years. It’s nice to see that not much has changed. It’s still the kind of place that makes you feel all interesting for knowing about it even thought it doesn’t actually mean you are interesting at all. It just means that you shop at odd places and buy things that were probably once owned by people who were much more unique than you.

I always feel like I should dress differently when I go there. I need to wear a cotton dress with puffed sleeves and black, patent leather mary-janes to be allowed in the stores. But I never do. I’m not sure I can pull off patent leather mary-janes.

One thing has changed though: there are two Starbucks within 100 yards of each other. If you get a coffee on one side of the circle and then walk VERY slowly to the other side of the circle, sipping quickly, you can purchase another coffee before that terrible moment when you tip back your cup only to find it’s empty. That’s always a sad time. Then you can walk around the circle again and do it all over! I don’t know what you call this kind of place, but I call it Nirvana.

April 12, 2011

4.9.365: Sometimes being the birthday boy is really hard work…

…and you need a little nap to make it through the day. If that nap happens to fall exactly during the time when you are supposed to be opening your presents and eating cake? So be it. Too bad for everyone else.

My nephew understands this concept completely. He’s the birthday boy and he gets to decide when it’s nap time.

April 12, 2011

4.8.365: My parents are really cute

Of course, they know this because all they have to do is take a look at their offspring to see what delightful genes they possess.

It’s always nice to have a fancy-dress photo to prove it though.

Tags:
April 12, 2011

4.7.365: I have no idea what this means

I suspect it means that if you enter this truck, the world will end. Fish will suddenly defy the laws of physics and biology, trees will grow sideways and mutant clouds will expel from the earth.

You’ve been warned.

Seen whilst driving in a southernly direction on the I-5.

April 12, 2011

4.6.365: There is no crying in baseball.

Even when you miss every ball that comes your way.


She looks ready though, doesn’t she?