4.29.365: She gets it from her father

She ran into the house, hair flying, tears streaming.

“Mama!” She wailed, “I lost my lunch box!”

“No,” I replied, “You didn’t.”

“Yes I DID.”

“Oka-ay… What makes you think you lost your lunch box?”

“I put it in front of Mrs. K’s class before school and then when I went back to get it, IT WAS GONE.” She explained as giant alligator tears rolled across her cheeks.

“You didn’t put it in front of Mrs. K’s class because not twenty minutes before you got home, I found it on the dining room table and put it away.”

“NO. I remember taking it on the bus and now it’s gone!” She insisted.

“Maybe you are remembering a different day when you didn’t forget your lunch box on the table?”

“No I am not.”

“Are saying that I imagined taking your lunch box off the table, throwing away the warm sandwich and putting it back into the cupboard? Yes, you are. I can see it in your face. Why don’t you go look in the cabinet and see for yourself.”

“I don’t want to.”

“Wait- What? You don’t want to? You would rather that your lunch box be gone than have it be in the cabinet safe and sound?”

“BUT I REMEMBER TAKING IT ON THE BUS!!”

Her older sister runs to the cabinet, takes out the lunch box and holds it out for her to see. “Look! It’s here.”

“NO.” She says, covering her eyes and turning her head away from the traitorous lunch box that wouldn’t stay lost.

Twenty minutes later…

“Why are you still pouting, My Little Mary Sunshine?” I asked.

“Because I remember taking it on the bus…” She replied, still refusing to look at the lunch box sitting in front of her.

4 Comments to “4.29.365: She gets it from her father”

  1. That’s adorable! I totally get her frustration. I am totally that kid. Even now.

  2. …have one just like her. Her father, too…

  3. Logic is just so over-rated sometimes….

  4. I love this. I absolutely love this. My sister once recorded herself on our Care Bears tape deck, and upon playing it back, started crying, because that wasn’t what she said!

