Archive for November 4th, 2011

November 4, 2011

11.4.365: A five minute reprieve

That’s about how long I got to see the blue sky today. It’s back to being gray and rainy.

But those five minutes were glorious.

November 4, 2011

11.3.365: Fallen Giants

I know that there is an upside to logging. I understand the cut now or burn later philosophy. And hey- I’d like a redwood deck just as much as the next gal.

I even understand that this tree was probably already on the ground and wasn’t cut down. I still can’t help but feel sad when I see one of our giants strapped to the back of a trailer. How many hundreds of years are represented there? And now it gets to become someone’s summer patio. That seems somewhat anticlimactic for such a long life. It makes me sad to see it go.