2.23.365: Shoes

My shoes are a good way to define which reality I’m living in.

Once upon a time, long, long ago, I thought I would grow up and leave Orange County for New York City. I would live in a tiny studio in Manhattan so I could afford to purchase Very Important Things like red kitten heels and zebra print suede stilettos.


Instead of my fantasy, I got a reality where I left Orange County to live at the very edge of the end of the earth. Instead of turquoise espadrilles, I spend 67% of my life wearing fur lined rubber boots. Although I do get to wear my red kitten heals to impress all the other people wandering around Target at 2pm on a Monday. It’s not the same, but it’s something.

It’s a good life in the country but I can’t help fantasizing about three inches of patent leather when I’m mucking through the swamp I call a yard.

One Comment to “2.23.365: Shoes”

  1. I thought I would be the bitter, old, single, rich, hag in NY and you drove through the end of my Earth

